Best ski resorts in Europe from the UK: seven areas by piste length
Which are the best ski resorts in Europe for a trip from the UK?
Our shortlist of the best ski resorts in Europe for a trip from the UK has seven ski areas in France, Switzerland, Italy, Austria and Andorra, ordered by the piste length each operator states, from Les 3 Vallées at 600 km to Grandvalira at 215 km.
This is a shortlist ordered by one measure, not a league table. No official source we read ranks European ski resorts for quality, snow or value, so "best" in the title means the areas on this list, and the order is only the length of pistes each operator publishes on its own site. A longer network is a bigger area, not a better holiday. We left out areas whose operator site gave no readable figure on 1 November 2026; the questions at the end say which.
- Les 3 Vallées7 resorts in 3 valleysCountryFrancePistes, as the operator states600 kmNot statedLifts, as statedNot statedHighest point, as stated
- Paradiski3 resortsCountryFrancePistes, as the operator states425 kmNot statedLifts, as statedNot statedHighest point, as stated
- Zermatt, with Breuil-Cervinia and ValtournencheSwiss and Italian areasCountrySwitzerland and ItalyPistes, as the operator statesUp to 360 km (around 200 km on the Swiss side)Not statedLifts, as statedHighest point, as stated3,883 m
- Ski ArlbergSt Anton, Lech, Zürs and othersCountryAustriaPistes, as the operator states301 kmLifts, as stated85Not statedHighest point, as stated
- Tignes and Val d'IsèreLinked areaCountryFrancePistes, as the operator states300 kmLifts, as stated71Highest point, as stated3,456 m
- SkiWelt Wilder Kaiser-BrixentalCountryAustriaPistes, as the operator states275 kmLifts, as stated81Not statedHighest point, as stated
- GrandvaliraCountryAndorraPistes, as the operator states215 kmNot statedLifts, as statedNot statedHighest point, as stated
Ski area | Country | Pistes, as the operator states | Lifts, as stated | Highest point, as stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Les 3 Vallées 7 resorts in 3 valleys | France | 600 km | Not stated | Not stated |
Paradiski 3 resorts | France | 425 km | Not stated | Not stated |
Zermatt, with Breuil-Cervinia and Valtournenche Swiss and Italian areas | Switzerland and Italy | Up to 360 km (around 200 km on the Swiss side) | Not stated | 3,883 m |
Ski Arlberg St Anton, Lech, Zürs and others | Austria | 301 km | 85 | Not stated |
Tignes and Val d'Isère Linked area | France | 300 km | 71 | 3,456 m |
SkiWelt Wilder Kaiser-Brixental | Austria | 275 km | 81 | Not stated |
Grandvalira | Andorra | 215 km | Not stated | Not stated |
Every guide on hellosafe.co.uk is written from official sources: GOV.UK and the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office, and the embassies and immigration services of each destination. Each fact is checked on the date shown under its table, and the page is updated when a rule changes. No airline, tour operator or visa service pays for a place in our guides.
Learn moreDoes a longer network of pistes make a ski area better?
No source we read says so: kilometres of pistes measure the size of an area, not the quality of its snow or how well it suits a beginner or an expert, and no official source turns that size into a ranking.
The figures are not built the same way. Zermatt's tourist office states around 200 km of slopes on the Swiss side and up to 360 km together with the Italian areas of Breuil-Cervinia and Valtournenche, and says those need an international pass. Les 3 Vallées describes 3 valleys and 7 resorts for its 600 km, and Paradiski describes 3 resorts for 425 km. Comparing a single resort with a multi-resort network on kilometres alone favours the network.
Where an operator prints a lift count we show it: 85 cable cars and lifts for Ski Arlberg, 81 lifts for SkiWelt and 71 ski lifts on Tignes' page. For the highest point only two of the seven sites gave a figure, 3,883 m at Zermatt and 3,456 m for Tignes, so we did not order the list by altitude.
When do the 2026-27 ski seasons open?
The earliest openings we found are on 21 November 2026, in Tignes and in Val Thorens and Orelle (Les 3 Vallées); the other operators that print a date announce 2 December to 12 December 2026, and Zermatt's page gave none.
- Les 3 ValléesOpening announced for 2026-2721 November 2026 in Val Thorens and Orelle; the 3 Vallées links open from 5 December 2026Not statedClosing date stated
- ParadiskiOpening announced for 2026-2712 December 2026Closing date stated17 April 2027
- ZermattNot stated on the page we readOpening announced for 2026-27Not statedClosing date stated
- Ski ArlbergOpening announced for 2026-272 December 2026Not statedClosing date stated
- Tignes and Val d'IsèreOpening announced for 2026-27Tignes from 21 November 2026; the link with Val d'Isère from 28 November 2026, subject to snowClosing date statedTignes: 2 May 2027
- SkiWelt Wilder Kaiser-BrixentalOpening announced for 2026-275 December 2026, earlier if there is enough snowNot statedClosing date stated
- GrandvaliraOpening announced for 2026-27No season notice read; a December offers banner on the site says "Open from 4 December"Not statedClosing date stated
Ski area | Opening announced for 2026-27 | Closing date stated |
|---|---|---|
Les 3 Vallées | 21 November 2026 in Val Thorens and Orelle; the 3 Vallées links open from 5 December 2026 | Not stated |
Paradiski | 12 December 2026 | 17 April 2027 |
Zermatt | Not stated on the page we read | Not stated |
Ski Arlberg | 2 December 2026 | Not stated |
Tignes and Val d'Isère | Tignes from 21 November 2026; the link with Val d'Isère from 28 November 2026, subject to snow | Tignes: 2 May 2027 |
SkiWelt Wilder Kaiser-Brixental | 5 December 2026, earlier if there is enough snow | Not stated |
Grandvalira | No season notice read; a December offers banner on the site says "Open from 4 December" | Not stated |
A full area can open after its first lifts. Les 3 Vallées starts with Val Thorens and Orelle on 21 November and adds the links between valleys on 5 December, and Tignes ties its link with Val d'Isère to snow conditions. Read the operator's page again the week you travel, because dates move with the weather.
What do British passport holders need to ski in France, Austria, Switzerland, Italy or Andorra?
No visa for a ski holiday of up to 90 days in any 180-day period in France, Austria, Switzerland or Italy, according to GOV.UK, and no visa to enter Andorra. The passport rules are the part that catches people.
- FranceSki areas in this guideLes 3 Vallées, Paradiski, Tignes and Val d'IsèreNo visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day periodWhat GOV.UK says for British passport holders
- AustriaSki areas in this guideSki Arlberg, SkiWeltNo visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day periodWhat GOV.UK says for British passport holders
- SwitzerlandSki areas in this guideZermattNo visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day periodWhat GOV.UK says for British passport holders
- ItalySki areas in this guideThe Italian side of the Zermatt areaNo visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day periodWhat GOV.UK says for British passport holders
- AndorraSki areas in this guideGrandvaliraNo visa needed, but Andorra is not in the Schengen areaWhat GOV.UK says for British passport holders
Country | Ski areas in this guide | What GOV.UK says for British passport holders |
|---|---|---|
France | Les 3 Vallées, Paradiski, Tignes and Val d'Isère | No visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day period |
Austria | Ski Arlberg, SkiWelt | No visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day period |
Switzerland | Zermatt | No visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day period |
Italy | The Italian side of the Zermatt area | No visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day period |
Andorra | Grandvalira | No visa needed, but Andorra is not in the Schengen area |
The issue-date test matters because a passport can show months of validity and still fail it. Count the date it was issued, not only the expiry date, before you pack. Our entry requirements guide sets the same rules out for other destinations.
Andorra is a separate case. GOV.UK says it is not in the Schengen area and that you must pass through France or Spain to enter it, so a trip to Grandvalira crosses a Schengen border as well as Andorra's own.
Will the Entry/Exit System affect a ski trip?
Yes, if you enter the Schengen area: GOV.UK says the Entry/Exit System (EES) started on 12 October 2025 and that you may be asked for your fingerprints and a photo on your first visit.
According to GOV.UK, your digital EES record is valid for 3 years, and its wording on delays is plain: the EES "may take each passenger extra time to complete so be prepared to wait longer than usual at the border". On a ski weekend with a tight transfer, the border is the step to leave time for. See GOV.UK's EU Entry/Exit System page, last updated on 10 April 2026 when we read it on 1 November 2026.
We give no queue times, because we read none from an official source.
Does the FCDO advise against travel to any of these ski countries?
No: on 1 November 2026 none of the five main advice pages carries a warning against travel to any part of France, Austria, Switzerland, Italy or Andorra.
- FranceNoneWarning against travelNotice or caution read on the pageDemonstrations may disrupt local transport servicesPage updated22 October 2026
- AustriaNoneWarning against travelNotice or caution read on the pageNo time-limited noticePage updated11 August 2026
- SwitzerlandNoneWarning against travelNotice or caution read on the pageThe page still carries a notice about the G7 summit of 15 to 17 June 2026, which has passedPage updated11 August 2026
- ItalyNoneWarning against travelNotice or caution read on the pageRecent demonstrations in northern Italian cities led to violent riots and looting; further demonstrations may take place in major citiesPage updated29 October 2026
- AndorraNoneWarning against travelNotice or caution read on the pageNo time-limited noticePage updated10 December 2025
Country | Warning against travel | Notice or caution read on the page | Page updated |
|---|---|---|---|
France | None | Demonstrations may disrupt local transport services | 22 October 2026 |
Austria | None | No time-limited notice | 11 August 2026 |
Switzerland | None | The page still carries a notice about the G7 summit of 15 to 17 June 2026, which has passed | 11 August 2026 |
Italy | None | Recent demonstrations in northern Italian cities led to violent riots and looting; further demonstrations may take place in major cities | 29 October 2026 |
Andorra | None | No time-limited notice | 10 December 2025 |
The warnings above do not mention skiing, but each country's safety and security page has a winter sports section, so read it as well. For snow conditions and lift status, use the operator's own page, which is also where the opening dates above come from.
What should you check before you leave for the mountains?
Six things, in this order: the passport issue date and expiry date, the days you have already used in the Schengen area, the FCDO page, the border time and the operator's opening date. If you drive, our driving abroad guide covers the licence and the rules by country, our international driving permit guide says whether you need one, and the ferry to France guide and Crit'Air guide cover the crossing and French city stickers. Our travel tips and the holiday ideas hub go further.
- Passport issue date
Less than 10 years before the day you arrive, in France, Austria, Switzerland and Italy. - Passport expiry date
At least 3 months after the day you plan to leave the Schengen area. - Days already used
The 90 days in any 180 count every earlier Schengen visit in that window. - FCDO page
Read the page of your country again in the week you travel. - Border time
Allow extra time at the border for the EES, more with a tight transfer. - Opening date
Check the operator's page the week you go: dates depend on snow.
Best ski resorts in Europe: your questions answered
Of the seven areas we compared, Les 3 Vallées states the longest network, 600 km. We cannot say it is the biggest in Europe, because we read no piste length for some large areas, so the table is a comparison of seven, not of every area.
No, not for up to 90 days in any 180-day period, according to GOV.UK. Your British passport must have been issued less than 10 years before you arrive and expire at least 3 months after you plan to leave the Schengen area.
GOV.UK says you do not need a visa to enter Andorra, which is not in the Schengen area. It also says you must pass through France or Spain to enter, so check your passport against the same issue and expiry tests.
GOV.UK says the Entry/Exit System started on 12 October 2025. You may be asked for fingerprints and a photo on your first visit, and the border may take longer than usual.
The earliest dates we found are 21 November 2026, for Tignes and for Val Thorens and Orelle in Les 3 Vallées. Ski Arlberg announces 2 December, SkiWelt 5 December and Paradiski 12 December 2026, and all of these depend on snow.
Not on 1 November 2026. The advice pages for France, Austria, Switzerland, Italy and Andorra carry no warning against travel, and the French and Italian pages caution about demonstrations, which may disrupt local transport.
No. Zermatt’s tourist office says the Swiss area offers around 200 km of slopes and that, with the Italian areas of Breuil-Cervinia and Valtournenche on an international pass, the total is up to 360 km.
On 1 November 2026 Dolomiti Superski’s site returned an access error to our request, and Bansko’s ski site gave no total piste length. The Portes du Soleil site says 12 resorts in 2 countries and that the whole area opens on 19 December, but gave no piste length. We add an area when we can read its figure.
On the same topic

Best Christmas markets in Europe: dates, cities and travel from the UK
29 Oct 2026

Hot places in January: temperatures, rain and entry rules for 9 destinations
5 Nov 2026

Where is hot in December? Temperatures and entry rules for 9 places
6 Nov 2026