Australian visa for UK citizens: eVisitor, ETA and how to apply
Do British citizens need a visa for Australia?
Yes. A British passport does not get you into Australia on its own: GOV.UK says you must have a visa, and most British citizens can obtain one of two permissions, the eVisitor or the Electronic Travel Authority (ETA). The eVisitor has no application charge and no service fee. The ETA has no application charge either, but GOV.UK says it may carry a service fee.
This guide is for travellers leaving the UK on a British passport for a holiday or a family visit. It explains the two permissions, what each costs, how to apply, what your passport must meet, what to declare when you land and the seasonal risks that catch visitors out. It does not sell a visa and files nothing on your behalf: the Australian government decides every application.
- Holiday or family visit on a British passporteVisitor or ETA needed before you travelWhat appliesCosteVisitor: nothing. ETA: no application charge, possible service fee
- Applying for the eVisitorNo application charge or service feeWhat appliesCostFree
- Applying for the ETA in the official appMay carry a service feeWhat appliesCostAmount set by Australia
- British and Australian dual citizenLeave and enter Australia on your Australian passportWhat appliesCostNot applicable
- Work, study or another purposeA different visa, listed by Home AffairsWhat appliesCostSet by Home Affairs
Your situation | What applies | Cost |
|---|---|---|
Holiday or family visit on a British passport | eVisitor or ETA needed before you travel | eVisitor: nothing. ETA: no application charge, possible service fee |
Applying for the eVisitor | No application charge or service fee | Free |
Applying for the ETA in the official app | May carry a service fee | Amount set by Australia |
British and Australian dual citizen | Leave and enter Australia on your Australian passport | Not applicable |
Work, study or another purpose | A different visa, listed by Home Affairs | Set by Home Affairs |
Every guide on hellosafe.co.uk is written from official sources: GOV.UK and the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office, and the embassies and immigration services of each destination. Each fact is checked on the date shown under its table, and the page is updated when a rule changes. No airline, tour operator or visa service pays for a place in our guides.
Learn moreAustralia ETA or eVisitor: which one suits a UK traveller?
GOV.UK names both as the usual route for British citizens, so the real choice is between a free application on the Home Affairs website and an application in the official app that may add a service fee. The word to notice is "usually": the advice does not promise that every applicant qualifies, and a person who does not should look at the other visas on the Home Affairs visa finder.
- eVisitor
Applied for through the Home Affairs eVisitor page. GOV.UK says there is no application charge and no service fee. - ETA
Applied for through the official app, which GOV.UK links for both iPhone and Android, and described on the Home Affairs ETA page. No application charge, but a service fee may apply.
On cost alone the eVisitor is the simpler choice, since nothing is payable at any stage. We have left out the permitted stay, how long each permission lasts and how quickly it is granted. GOV.UK's advice does not state them, and we only print figures we have checked at the source. Read them on the two Home Affairs pages before you pay for flights.
Does an Australian visa cost anything for British citizens?
The eVisitor costs nothing: GOV.UK says it has no application charge and no service fee. The ETA has no application charge, but a service fee may be added, and GOV.UK does not give an amount. Check the figure on the app screen before you confirm, and treat anything beyond it as a sign you are in the wrong place.
- eVisitorApplication chargeNoneService feeNoneWhere you applyHome Affairs website
- ETAApplication chargeNoneService feeMay apply, amount not stated by GOV.UKWhere you applyOfficial AustralianETA app
Permission | Application charge | Service fee | Where you apply |
|---|---|---|---|
eVisitor | None | None | Home Affairs website |
ETA | None | May apply, amount not stated by GOV.UK | Official AustralianETA app |
Because the eVisitor is free, a website that asks you to pay for one is not charging the government's price. It is charging for its own service, and you can get the same permission without it.
How do you apply, step by step?
There is no form to fill in at the airport: you need your permission before you travel.
- Choose the permission. The eVisitor if you want nothing to pay, the ETA if you would rather use the app.
- Start from an official address. For the eVisitor, open the Home Affairs eVisitor page. For the ETA, use the Home Affairs ETA page or the app that GOV.UK links in the Apple and Google stores.
- Use the passport you will travel on. GOV.UK says it must be valid for the length of your planned stay, so check its expiry date first.
- Read every charge before you confirm. The eVisitor shows none. If a page asks for money to process an eVisitor, stop.
- Keep the confirmation with your travel documents.
GOV.UK points British travellers to the Home Affairs visa finder for any other visa type. That is the page to use for a stay that is not a holiday or a family visit.
How do you avoid paying more than the government asks?
The simplest test follows from the fee rules above. If the eVisitor is free, any price attached to it belongs to the website, not to Australia.
- A charge for an eVisitor: GOV.UK states there is no application charge or service fee, so a price here is the website's own.
- An address that is not an official one: Reach the application from a link on GOV.UK or the Home Affairs site, not from an advert in a search result.
- An ETA service fee that looks large: The fee is real but its amount is set by Australia, so compare any other price with the one on the official application.
- A promise of a guaranteed outcome: The decision rests with the Australian authorities, and no website can promise it.
What must your passport meet for Australia?
The passport rule in GOV.UK's advice is short: it must be valid for the length of your planned stay. It does not ask for extra months of validity for Australia itself.
- Stopovers
GOV.UK warns that many countries on the way ask for six months' validity, even if you only change planes. Check each country on your route. - Dual nationals
A British and Australian dual citizen must leave and enter Australia on the Australian passport. - Yellow fever
A certificate is needed if you arrive from a country GOV.UK lists as a transmission risk. - Children
GOV.UK's Australia entry page gives no separate rule for children. Ask the Australian High Commission before you travel with one parent only.
What must you declare when you land in Australia?
Australia applies strict biosecurity rules. GOV.UK says you must declare anything that may be prohibited or subject to tax or duty, and you complete an Incoming Passenger Card on arrival.
- Food, animal products and plant material
Declare them, wooden articles included, or leave them in the bins at the airport or seaport. - Contact with the land
Declare any contact with farms, farm animals, wilderness areas, or freshwater streams and lakes in the past 30 days. - Luggage checks
Bags are X-rayed, and items of concern can be confiscated and destroyed. - Penalties
GOV.UK warns that breaking quarantine can lead to a heavy fine.
The Incoming Passenger Card is the document where you make that declaration.
When do bushfires, cyclones and floods affect a trip?
A British visitor arrives from the opposite season, and the risks follow the Australian calendar. GOV.UK's advice sets them out by hazard.
- BushfireWhen and whereHigher risk from October to February on the warnings page, highest from November to February on the safety pageWhat GOV.UK advisesDownload BOM Weather, VicEmergency, AlertSA or EmergencyWA, and check air-quality sites if you have a respiratory condition
- Tropical cycloneWhen and whereNovember to April, mainly Queensland, the Northern Territory and Western AustraliaWhat GOV.UK advisesMonitor Bureau of Meteorology updates and follow local authorities
- FloodingWhen and whereAfter heavy rain and cyclones, and it can develop quicklyWhat GOV.UK advisesObey stay-at-home and leave-now orders
- Extreme heatWhen and whereA serious risk in hot weatherWhat GOV.UK advisesFollow Australian Red Cross guidance on heatstroke and heat exhaustion
- Dust stormsWhen and whereRegular, mostly in outback areasWhat GOV.UK advisesFollow local authority guidance
Hazard | When and where | What GOV.UK advises |
|---|---|---|
Bushfire | Higher risk from October to February on the warnings page, highest from November to February on the safety page | Download BOM Weather, VicEmergency, AlertSA or EmergencyWA, and check air-quality sites if you have a respiratory condition |
Tropical cyclone | November to April, mainly Queensland, the Northern Territory and Western Australia | Monitor Bureau of Meteorology updates and follow local authorities |
Flooding | After heavy rain and cyclones, and it can develop quickly | Obey stay-at-home and leave-now orders |
Extreme heat | A serious risk in hot weather | Follow Australian Red Cross guidance on heatstroke and heat exhaustion |
Dust storms | Regular, mostly in outback areas | Follow local authority guidance |
Bushfire smoke can travel far, into cities as well as the countryside. The full list is on the GOV.UK safety and security page for Australia.
What are the main dangers in the water?
Rip currents are the main hazard for swimmers and surfers, according to GOV.UK. They can form at any beach, and they can carry even a strong swimmer out to sea.
- Shallow water
British nationals have been injured diving in. Check the depth first and obey warning signs. - Snorkelling and diving
Accidents have sometimes been fatal. Resorts legally require a medical declaration, and you must be honest about any condition. - Wildlife
Crocodiles, jellyfish, sharks, venomous insects, spiders and snakes all live in Australia. GOV.UK points to the Beachsafe site for marine creature information.
Can you drive in Australia on a UK licence?
Yes, for a temporary visit with a photocard licence. GOV.UK says a UK photocard licence is valid for temporary visitors, while holders of a paper licence may need to update it to a photocard or carry a 1949-version International Driving Permit (IDP).
- Hire cars
Firms often ask for a year of driving experience, a higher minimum age and an IDP. - Carry your documents
Keep your licence and passport with you at all times. - Rules of the road
Seat belts are mandatory, and drink-driving and drug-driving carry severe penalties. - Jet lag
If you collect a car straight after a long flight, take regular breaks at rest stops.
What changes when you drive in the outback?
Help can take hours to arrive, and mobile coverage can be very limited or absent. GOV.UK advises you to carry enough water, tell someone your plans, check road conditions and the weather, and avoid travel in extreme heat or severe weather.
- Prepare the vehicle
Use a roadworthy vehicle with GPS and two spare tyres, and carry extra food, water and fuel. - If you break down
Stay with your vehicle. - Unsurfaced tracks
Northern Territory Police have warned tourists to stay off them in remote Central Australia after reports of stranded motorists. - K'gari (Fraser Island)
Beach speed limit 80 km/h, 30 km/h in towns, no more than eight occupants in a four-wheel-drive, and no pharmacy on the island.
What health checks should you make before flying?
GOV.UK says to check the latest recommendations on TravelHealthPro at least 8 weeks before you travel, and to see NHS travel vaccinations for availability and cost. A yellow fever certificate is only needed for travellers arriving from a listed country.
- Insect and tick-borne disease
GOV.UK highlights dengue, Japanese encephalitis and other insect or tick-borne diseases. - Your own medicines
The legal status of a medicine can differ from the UK. TravelHealthPro has guidance on travelling with medicines. - Emergencies
Dial 000 and ask for an ambulance.
Is Australia safe for visitors, and what scams should you know?
GOV.UK says terrorists are likely to try to carry out attacks in Australia, that attacks could be indiscriminate, and that visitors should follow the instructions of the authorities. For everyday safety, it advises keeping your passport and valuables in a hotel safe, carrying a photocopy of your passport, and taking particular care at night in busy tourist areas.
The scams it names are dating and romance scams and fake building-repair or website services. Scamwatch, the Australian government's reporting site, is where GOV.UK sends people to check and report them.
Which other entry guides should you read next?
Our entry requirements hub for British passport holders lists the rules destination by destination. Canada asks for a similar online permission, explained in our Canada eTA guide for UK citizens.
When were Australia's entry rules last checked?
We read the GOV.UK entry requirements for Australia and the safety and security page on 30 October 2026. GOV.UK shows no update date on either page, and its warnings page was last updated on 19 March 2026. The Home Affairs pages for the eVisitor and the ETA are the source for stay length, validity and processing time, so confirm those there.
The rule to remember: a British passport needs an eVisitor or an ETA before you travel, the eVisitor is free, and the ETA may add a service fee.
Australian visa for UK citizens: frequently asked questions
Yes. GOV.UK says you must have a visa, and British citizens can usually get an eVisitor or an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA).
Yes. GOV.UK says the eVisitor has no application charge and no service fee.
It has no application charge, but GOV.UK says it may carry a service fee. Check the amount in the official app before you confirm.
The eVisitor is applied for on the Home Affairs website and has no application charge or service fee. The ETA is applied for in the official app and may carry a service fee, according to GOV.UK.
On the official Home Affairs eVisitor page, which GOV.UK links. Avoid sites that charge you to submit it.
Through the official app that GOV.UK links for iPhone and Android, or from the Home Affairs ETA page.
GOV.UK does not state the permitted stay, so we do not quote one. Read it on the Home Affairs page for the permission you hold.
GOV.UK says it must be valid for the length of your planned stay. Countries you pass through on the way may ask for six months.
You must leave and enter Australia on your Australian passport, according to GOV.UK.
Only if you arrive from a country that GOV.UK lists as a yellow fever transmission risk.
Anything that may be prohibited or subject to tax or duty, including food, animal products, wooden articles and plant material. You also declare contact with farms, wilderness areas, or fresh water in the past 30 days.
A UK photocard licence is valid for temporary visitors. Paper licence holders may need to update it or carry a 1949-version IDP, and hire firms often ask for an IDP anyway.
GOV.UK says the risk is higher from October to February, and highest from November to February.
On the same topic

New Zealand eTA for UK citizens: fee, levy and how to apply
31 Oct 2026

Canada eTA for UK citizens: who needs one, fee and how to apply
31 Oct 2026

Sri Lanka visa for UK citizens: free ETA and how to apply
31 Oct 2026



